Guide: Overview of all menu options for administrators

Please note that some options are only available to server administrators.

Clicking on the menu item in the table to open an image of what the linked page looks like. Click on the "More info" link to learn more.

 

1. The "Company" menu

Menu item
(Click for image)
Description More info
addcompany.jpg This option is not available.  
showchangecompany.jpg This option takes you to a form containing the selected company's information (such as name, address, phone number, email address etc.) which is displayed in the system. If you need to update this information you can do so here. More info
adduser.jpg If you need to add a new user to a company you can do so by selecting this option. You will be taken to a form to fill out (including the user's username, email address, etc.) after you have submitted this you will be provided with the user's login details. More info
showchangeusers.jpg Clicking here will take you to a list of the users in the selected company, including their contact details. If you need to edit their user information, or issue them a new password, clicking on their name will take you to a form for doing so. More info
inactivatecompany.jpg This option is not available.  
activatecompany.jpg This option is not available.  
sendemail.jpg This option takes you to a form which allows you to send email to users in the selected company or to those in the project you have selected. More info
sendemailtoallusers.jpg This option is not available.  
sendemailtoallusers.jpg This option is not available.  
deletecompany.jpg This option is not available.  

 

 

2. The "Project" menu

Menu item
(Click for image)
Description More info
addproject.jpg To create a new project click here. You'll be taken to a form where you can give it a name, give it an order number and add it to the company's list of projects. More info
showchangeproject.jpg Clicking here takes you to a form where you can update a project's name and order number. More info
changeprojectorder.jpg If you need to change the order number (the sequence in which projects appear in the left column) you can do so here. Simply change the numbers associated with the chapters you want to move in the form provided. More info
adduserstoproject.jpg This option allows you to add users from the companies you administrate to the project you have chosen. Simply click the "Add" button in the list provided. (Note that you can also remove users from the project here.) More info
setpermissions.jpg Clicking here will take you to the matrix used for assigning users – in the project you have selected – their permissions. (Edit text, Edit layout, Read and comment etc.) More info 
changesettingsfortrackchanges.jpg If you are using the extra feature TrackChanges you can set users' ability to accept and reject changes using this option. (You can also change their designated colour here.) More info 
changepdfprofiles.jpg This option allows you to add additional PDF presets (high resolution, spreads, clean, etc.) so that InCopy/InDesign creates multiple PDFs when saving to the server. More info 
inactivateproject.jpg You can inactivate the project you have selected - effectively making it unaccessible to all users however not deleted - by using this button found when clicking here. More info
activateproject.jpg You can activate a project that has been inactivated by using the button found when clicking here. More info
archiveproject.jpg This option is not available.  
sendemail.jpg This option takes you to a form which allows you to send email to users in the project you have selected. More info
publishmessage.jpg Clicking here will take you to a form where you can compose a message that will be visible on the welcome page for all users in the project you have selected. More info
setlingsoft.jpg This option is not available.  
enabledisableadditionalfeatures.jpg This option is not available.  
deletemessage.jpg If there are any messages that have been added to the project you have selected you have the option to delete them here. More info 
deleterelatedinformation.jpg If any related information (resources such as fonts or images) have been added for the project you have selected you can delete them here. More info 
deleteproject.jpg Clicking here allows you to delete the project you have selected. (Note this option will only be available after all chapters in the selected project have first been deleted.) More info

 

 

3. The "Chapter" menu

Menu item
(Click for image)
Description More info
addchapter.jpg If you need to add a chapter (or multiple chapters) to a project you can do so via the form found on this page. Simply give your chapter a name and order number and click "Create". More info 
vieweditchapter.jpg This option will show you a list of the chapters in the project you have selected with information about when the last version was created and by whom. (You can also unlock chapters for other users here.) If you need to change a chapter's name or order number you can do so by clicking on its name. More info
changechapterorder.jpg Clicking here will allow you to change the chapter order (how the chapters appear in the left column and when creating a combined PDF) for the project you have selected. More info
showearlierversions.jpg After selecting a chapter, using "View/edit chapter" (above) you can use this option to see information about all previous versions. This includes when they were created, by whom as well as any comments available. (Note that you can download InDesign documents or PDFs using this page, to do so you should use the option for this found beneath the "Chapter" menu while logged in as a user rather than an administrator. See the more info link to the right.) More info
deletecomment.jpg After selecting a chapter you can choose to delete any comments which are no longer relevant via this option. (Note that a comment has to have the status of "Done" before it can be deleted.) More info
addversioncomment.jpg You can add a version comment to a selected chapter here. This is identical to the regular comment function found when logged in as a user. More info
changestatus.jpg If you need to change the status of a chapter (a rarely used function) you can do so by using this option. This is identical to the option with the same name while logged in as a user rather than as an administrator. More info 
unlockchapter.jpg Chapters which are locked by other users can be unlocked by administrators by using this option – make sure to select the chapter in question first. More info
inactivatechapter.jpg After you have selected a chapter (using "View/edit chapter") you can choose to inactivate it by using this option. Chapters which have been inactivated cannot be accessed or viewed by any users till they have been activated again. See below. More info 
activatechapter.jpg If you need activate a chapter that has been deactivated (see above) you can do so here. (Make sure to select the inactivated chapter first by using "View/edit chapter") More info 
deletechapter.jpg Clicking here, after you have selected a chapter with "View/edit chapter", will allow you to completely delete a chapter and all of its previous versions. (Note that you cannot delete a chapter that contains comments which are not set as "Done".) More info
deletechapterversion.jpg If you need to remove the *latest* version of a chapter for any reason you can do so here. Note that you cannot delete the latest version of a chapter if it is still checked out by a user.  (Make sure you select the correct chapter using "View/edit chapter" since this cannot be undone.) More info

 

 

4. The "Help" menu

Menu item
(Click for image)
Description More info
help.jpg This is simply a link to the support website.   
loginasuser.jpg Clicking here will return you to the "user" portion of the CtrlPrint web portal. (The page you are directed to whenever you log in to CtrlPrint.)  
logout.jpg Clicking here will completely log you out of CtrlPrint and return you to the log in page. More info
about.jpg This page displays information about CtrlPrint's creators, copyrights and license agreements.  

 



Labels: guide administration

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk